Serving as the Savior

“There are so many people in need whom we could be thinking about instead of ourselves. And please don’t ever forget your own family, your own wife. There are so many ways we could be serving. We have no time to become absorbed in ourselves.” ~President Uctdorf

Our lives become fuller through serving others, through giving of ourselves. I know this principle is true. Heavenly Father blesses us when we take the time to help another person. My Dad wrote me a letter once, just filling me in on things happening back home.My parents have a special responsibility to coordinate sunday church service at the Veterans home near us. They get to work with some sweet folks and they get to serve them every week. One sunday after church, they had a little luncheon for the vets and one of them couldn’t make it. So my Dad made him a plate of food and brought it to his room. Reading about that just warmed my heart. My parents have taught me how to help others by their examples, by the way they serve one another and by the way they go out of their way to help my siblings and I.
I know that service is a part of living a Christlike life. I am grateful for my Savior and Redeemer, Jesus Christ. I know He lives and I know that His path is what blesses us with a happy and fulfilling life.
jesus-raises-daughter-of-jairus-949188-gallery

“Indeed, it is easier to “find” ourselves because there is so much more of us to find.” ~President Kimball

Leave a Reply

